Add Job Offer
Go to: All Jobs

Live in Carer for Adult son With Disabilities and Some Home Help in North West London

Posted: 22-11-2018
Place: Kilburn, London

Ad for live in carer
We are looking for someone to LIVE IN our house to help with care for our sweet son who is a young adult with disabilities. He is friendly, loving, gentle, cooperative and happy and does not have challenging behaviour.
(Please note that this position is ONLY LIVE-IN)
We are looking for someone with experience working with and looking after children, or working with elderly adults, as our son’s care needs are similar. experience with special needs would be a big bonus but is not essential. Full training would be provided on every aspect of our son’s needs.
You must be intelligent, responsible, reliable, sociable, totally trustworthy, flexible, efficient, energetic and above all to be very caring and loving. A good sense of humour would be an asset. You must be a non-smoker and be in good general health. It is important that you can understand and speak good English as our son’s speech is still developing and good communication skills are vital for him.
Our son is highly musical and is a Drummer, so being musical would be a big plus though it is not essential.
As well as learning through an intensive home programme of cognitive learning, self-help skills and independence, physiotherapy, speech therapy and music sessions, our son is a student 3 days per week at a special college in Brighton. You would need to travel to Brighton from London, each week, during term time, and would be responsible for our son’s care during the hours he is not at college, ie in the morning and then in the afternoon/evening after his college day is finished.
If you are interested in education, music, special needs, and therapy you will learn a lot in our home.
We need help with our son with his personal care, encouraging his development, therapy exercises, and being a general support. This help is primarily in the morning and later in the afternoon, and sometimes the evening, after his ‘working’ day.
People develop a deep sense of caring for our son as he is very loving and caring and feel rewarded by helping him and being part of his (and our) life.
Apart from caring for our son, some general assistance at home will be needed, mainly in the kitchen. Heavier household tasks are carried out by our cleaner, who comes during the week, Monday-Friday.
You would have some hours free during the day to study or whatever you choose, especially when in Brighton during term time. We will need some occasional evening childcare. You will have free time on the weekend as well, after helping our son on Saturday mornings. Sometimes Saturday evening babysitting will be required. Sunday is typically free time.
Our family consists of three adult daughters who have now mostly left home and our son is our youngest child. We are a close family so we try to see each other as often as possible.
We live in a large flat with a large garden, in a desirable, safe neighbourhood in North West London. You would have your own nice, well-sized bedroom, with your own cupboard space. You would share a nearby bathroom with our son and when teachers or visitors come over. There is internet access. Our home is well located with many amenities nearby and excellent transport links are excellent with multiple rail, tube and bus options in easy walking distance.
You will need to commit to a year, ideally at least until August 2018 when our son is due to finish attending college in Brighton. Then our plan is for him to return to living at home in London full time and following a London based curriculum of on-going education, music, work experience, and therapy.
Pay is competitive and will increase after a probation period of 3 months. Holiday time would be paid after 6 months.
If you are interested, you will need to have a visa or be allowed to live and study in the UK, and you must provide a cv, DBS/CRB (Criminal Records Bureau disclosure) a photo and good references. We hope to hear from you soon!

Report
This job is no longer available



London UK Jobs | Privacy Policy | RSS | Contact Us | Careers