Add Job Offer
Go to: All Jobssupport jobs

Family Support Worker in London

Posted: 17-12-2021
Place: Hammersmith Broadway, Greater London

Up to £15.00 gross per hour. Reliable, caring and understanding Family Support Worker / Nanny required for wonderful family in West London.
Job Title: Family Support Worker / Nanny | London, W6
Location: Stamford Brook, W6
Nearest Tube Station: Stamford Brook
Wage / Salary: £14.50 - £15.00 gross per hour depending on experience.  £25,447.00 - £26,325.00 gross per annum.
Driver required? No
Use of a car? Not applicable
Essential experience: Mainstream childcare, adult disability, Swimmer.
Start Date:  as soon as possible
Days and Hours: Tuesday – Friday
Tuesday: 8.00am to 11am and 3.00pm to 8.00pm.
Wednesday: 8.00am to 9.15am (paid for two hours) and 3.00pm to 8.00pm.
Thursday: 8.00am to 9.15am (paid for two hours) 3.00pm to 8.00pm.
Friday: 8.00am to 9.15am (paid for two hours) 3.00pm to 8.00pm.
29 Hrs in total in term time, with extra hours by mutual arrangement.
School holidays: Tuesday to Friday 8.00am to 8.00pm.
Lovely Thomas 8, and his mummy Daisy are seeking a fun, kind, energetic and organised Family Support Worker / Nanny. Daisy has a condition called Loeys Dietz Syndrome; a severely physically debilitating disorder that affects every aspect of Daisy’s life, including her ability to physically care for Thomas. Please research this syndrome before applying.
Most days, Daisy is bed bound for 18 – 24 hours, with severe pain, fatigue and problems with joints, soft tissue and internal organ function; she has to be very still and pace every single movement and is often unable to interact with Thomas, get out of bed, socialise, use computer, phone or even text. It is a very difficult condition to manage, and the risks are high, so Daisy needs a lot of support in order not to need to go over her physical limitations on a daily level. In spite of this, Daisy is still very independent and manages to do some work (mostly from home); she gives whatever energy she has to making sure Thomas is happy and well-loved.
Although not diagnosed, Thomas is likely to have inherited the condition in one form or another. The disorder has many types, ranging from being hypermobile (very flexible), to serious and life limiting types. Thomas is showing some signs, with slightly weaker muscle tone, delayed gross motor skill development and a lot of dental problems. To prevent potential joint and muscle problems, low impact strengthening exercise such as swimming is hugely important.
This is a unique role that includes housekeeping, looking after Thomas and helping Daisy be as independent as possible. Daily activities include: shopping, tidying (to avoid trip hazards and make it as easier for Daisy to do things in her home), meal planning and cooking, ordering prescriptions, arranging appointments, taxis, making heat and ice packs, keeping Daisy’s mobility scooter charged and ready to use, liaising with school, swimming, helping with homework, brushing Thomas’s teeth and creating fun games and activities, (keeping mum up to date and involved by sending photos of Thomas out and about). Daisy needs support each and every day so reliability and punctuality are essential. Assisting Daisy to hospital appointments and personal care is part of this role also. You will be joining a small team who support and liaise with each other.
Other skills required for this role: Daisy communicates a lot via emails, texts etc, and using technological aids around the home, so you will be technologically up to date. You will also need great organisational skills, the ability to stay calm and professional under pressure and also to have an emotional resilience and maturity as both Daisy and Thomas have been effected by traumatic experiences and losses over the last few years. They would welcome a warm, upbeat and practical addition to their family home. Holiday support and overnight care will potentially be required however this is to be mutually agreed.
Thomas needs solid, consistent, long-term support from a grown-up he can trust, feel safe with and laugh with. He is funny and inquisitive, a great little boy to be around. If you wish to find out more about this position please speak with Jade who has the pleasure of working with this great family well known to Snap.

ReportApply Now

London UK JobsContact UsPrivacy PolicyRSSCareers